Skip to main content
WalletWaypoint

For educational purposes only — not financial advice. Learn about our editorial process

Housing · Chicago, IL

Chicago, IL First-Time Homebuyer Programs 2026

First-time homebuyer programs in Chicago, IL for 2026: HomeGrown Purchase Assistance, Building Neighborhoods and Affordable Homes Program (BNAH), Shared Equity Investment Program - Purchase Price Assistance and more, how they stack with Illinois state programs, income limits, and tips. Median...

$409,805
Median home price, Chicago
7
Local programs
3
Illinois programs

Overview

Chicago is the rare big city where a first-time buyer can still find a house at the median. Redfin's September 2026 median sale price was $409,805, up 7.8% year over year, and that climb is squeezing the bungalow belt and two-flat neighborhoods that used to be the easy entry point. First-time buyers are concentrated on the Northwest and Southwest Sides (Portage Park, Belmont Cragin, Garfield Ridge, Ashburn), the South Side (Chatham, South Shore condos, the edges of Beverly), and in nearby Cook County suburbs like Berwyn, Oak Lawn, and Blue Island. Two- to four-flats remain a Chicago specialty, and most of the programs below allow them.

The city's current flagship is HomeGrown Purchase Assistance from the Department of Housing. It is a grant, not a loan, with amounts set by your income and the property's zone: in Zone A (neighborhoods with sharply rising prices) a household at or below 80% of AMI can get $70,000, sliding to $10,000 at 121% to 150% of AMI; in Zone B (low-income census tracts) it runs from $50,000 down to $20,000 at 101% to 120% of AMI. The grant cannot exceed 25% of the purchase price, you must put in 1% of your own money, complete HUD-approved homebuyer education before closing, and keep the home as your primary residence for five years. You can use any Illinois-licensed lender, but the grant application only goes through NLS (an NHS Chicago affiliate) or TRP Lending, and only after you have a signed contract; the queue is first-come, first-served. For brand-new homes built on city lots, Building Neighborhoods and Affordable Homes pays up to $100,000 toward price, appraisal gaps, or closing costs for households up to 140% of AMI, with a 10-year occupancy requirement. Buyers of land-trust, co-op, or deed-restricted homes can get up to $60,000 through the Shared Equity Investment Program, and the Chicago Housing Trust lists price-restricted condos and houses.

Local Programs in Chicago

HomeGrown Purchase Assistance

Grant for down payment and closing costs; DOH's FAQ requires the borrower to reside in the home as a primary residence for five years (recapture mechanics are not detailed on the page)
Chicago Department of Housing (DOH); administered by Neighborhood Lending Services (NLS, an NHS Chicago affiliate) and TRP Lending, LLC
Zone A: $70,000 (at or below 80% AMI), $60,000 (81-90%), $50,000 (91-100%), $40,000 (101-120%), $10,000 (121-150%). Zone B: $50,000 (at or below 80%), $40,000 (81-90%), $30,000 (91-100%), $20,000 (101-120%). Grant may not exceed 25% of the purchase price.
Up to 150% of AMI in Zone A and 120% of AMI in Zone B, per DOH's Area Median Income chart (updated annually; linked from the program page)
City of Chicago; Zone A = areas with significant home price increases, Zone B = low-income census tracts (check the address lookup map on the program page)

Applications open as of October 2026, first-come, first-served; your place in the queue is set only when a complete application is submitted. A signed purchase contract is required before applying. Buyer must contribute at least 1% of the purchase price from personal funds, complete HUD-approved homebuyer education before closing, and may use any Illinois-licensed lender (no preferred-lender requirement), but the grant application goes only through NLS or TRP. No co-signers; grant cannot pay for furnishings, mortgage insurance, or appraisal gaps. Non-residents relocating to Chicago and City employees may apply. DOH's page does not list a first-time buyer requirement; confirm with NLS or TRP.

Building Neighborhoods and Affordable Homes Program (BNAH)

Purchase price assistance grant with a 10-year owner-occupancy requirement monitored by DOH
Chicago Department of Housing (DOH)
Up to $100,000; tiered by income and neighborhood residency: neighborhood-area residents $100,000 (below 80% AMI) down to $60,000 (121-140% AMI); non-neighborhood residents $90,000 down to $50,000
Up to 140% of AMI (DOH AMI chart, updated annually)
City of Chicago, only for newly constructed 1-4 unit homes built on city-owned lots under a Land Sale Redevelopment Agreement or City Lots for Working Families agreement

Grant can fill an appraisal gap, pay closing costs, down payment, senior loan principal reduction, appraisals, inspections, prepaid interest/points, and one year of prepaid insurance. Listed homes are posted on the DOH page as they become available (two Trumbull Ave listings at $750,000 at time of review). Cannot be used on private developments triggering the Affordable Requirements Ordinance. Apply online through DOH with the BNAH checklist and affidavits.

Shared Equity Investment Program - Purchase Price Assistance

Purchase price assistance for shared-equity homes (terms such as grant versus forgivable loan are not detailed on DOH's page)
Chicago Department of Housing (DOH) with The Resurrection Project (TRP)
Up to $60,000 per household
Households up to 120% of AMI
City of Chicago; buyers purchasing property in a community land trust, a unit in a cooperative, or a deed-restricted affordable unit

Newly established (applications opened under Mayor Johnson's Community Wealth Building effort). Apply through The Resurrection Project (resurrectionproject.org/seip). A separate Acquisition Support track run by Chicago Community Loan Fund funds organizations, not buyers. First-time status and recapture terms are not stated on DOH's page.

Chicago Housing Trust (formerly Chicago Community Land Trust)

Price-restricted homes sold at a subsidized price under a renewable 30-year restrictive covenant; resale price limited to original price plus a share of market appreciation
Chicago Housing Trust, a City of Chicago entity working with the Department of Housing
Varies by unit (below-market purchase price rather than a cash grant)
Listings are tiered at 100%, 120%, and 140% of AMI; dollar figures follow DOH's annual AMI chart
City of Chicago (Affordable Requirements Ordinance units and acquired homes in neighborhoods designated at risk of gentrification)

Not a down payment program; it is the pipeline for below-market condos, bungalows, and two-flats. Buyers attend a Trust orientation and apply through the Trust. Four homes were listed at time of review (East Garfield Park, Little Village, Woodlawn). Resale formula and first-time rules are set in the covenant rather than published as a single summary.

Cook County Down Payment Assistance Program

Forgivable second loan, 0% interest, no monthly payments, five-year term; forgiven at the fifth anniversary if a borrower still occupies the home as a primary residence; full balance due if sold or refinanced earlier
Cook County Bureau of Economic Development with Club 720 Solutions; loan servicers Land Home Financial Services and Wintrust Mortgage
Up to 5% of the final first mortgage amount, capped at $25,000, for down payment, closing costs, or rate buydown
At or below 120% of AMI (currently published as $145,800; year not stated); no income limit in Disproportionately Impacted Areas or Qualified Census Tracts
Cook County, including the City of Chicago; 1-4 unit primary residences

Phase III ($2 million) launched July 20, 2026. As of late October 2026 Club 720 reports the Land Home Financial Services allocation is fully committed and only limited Cook County funds remain through Wintrust Mortgage; buyers must obtain their first mortgage through Wintrust and funding is not guaranteed until a reservation is confirmed. HUD-approved homebuyer education required for anyone who has not owned a home in three years. Minimum credit score listed as 600 on Club 720's page and 620 in the County's June 2026 announcement. Fixed-rate 30-year first mortgage; FHA, VA, and Freddie Mac loan limits apply.

Cook County Land Bank Authority Purchase Assistance Program

Grant with a recapture agreement requiring three years of owner occupancy
Cook County Land Bank Authority (CCLBA)
Up to 6% of the purchase price, capped at $20,000, for down payment, closing costs, and certain costs paid outside closing (appraisal, insurance, inspection)
No income restrictions (lender requirements apply)
Properties on the CCLBA's eligible-properties list in Cook County

Announced July 28, 2026; first-come, first-served. Buyer contributes the lesser of $1,000 or 1% of the price (cannot be gifted); must be mortgage-ready with a pre-approval or proof of funds; homes sold as-is; homebuyer counseling required for Land Bank exclusive properties; other grants may be layered. Submit the application, notarized occupancy affidavit, signed recapture agreement, executed contract, and checklist by email; award letters take up to three weeks. No minimum credit score beyond your lender's.

Home Buyer Assistance Program (Chicago Infrastructure Trust)

Grant of up to 7% of the loan amount, historically forgiven after five years of owner occupancy with prorated repayment on earlier sale or refinance
Chicago Infrastructure Trust with participating lenders
Up to 7% of the loan amount (per program materials dated 2017-2019)
Published program caps were $133,000 (conventional) and $87,400 (FHA/VA/USDA) regardless of family size in 2016-2019 materials; no current figures published
City of Chicago

Status unverified and likely legacy. The Trust's page still says lenders are accepting applications, but its newest documents are a 2018 lender list and a 2019 flyer, the program page on chicago.gov has been removed, and DOH's current For Homebuyers page no longer lists it (HomeGrown appears to be the successor). Treat as closed unless a participating lender confirms otherwise.

Stacking With Illinois Programs

IHDA Mortgage provides the statewide first mortgage with a choice of Access Forgivable (4% up to $6,000, forgiven over 10 years), Access Deferred (5% up to $7,500, due on sale or refinance), Access Repayable (10% up to $10,000, 0% repaid over 10 years), or the $9,000 Opening Doors grant forgiven over five years that IHDA marked open in 2026; all require 1% or $1,000 of your own funds, a 640 credit score, DTI of 50% or less, and pre-purchase education. HomeGrown lets you use any Illinois-licensed lender and caps its grant at 25% of the price before any other purchase assistance is applied, which contemplates layering, but neither DOH nor IHDA publishes a compatibility chart, so have NLS or TRP and an IHDA-approved lender confirm the specific combination in writing. Cook County's DPA currently requires the first mortgage through Wintrust, which may or may not be your IHDA lender.

Full details, income limits, and the federal FHA, VA, and USDA options are on the Illinois first-time homebuyer programs guide. When you know what you qualify for, compare the best mortgage lenders for first-time buyers and confirm the lender is approved for the program you plan to use.

Tips for First-Time Buyers in Chicago

County and state layers. Cook County's own Down Payment Assistance Program (5% of the first mortgage up to $25,000, forgiven after five years) relaunched in July 2026 with $2 million, but by late October the Land Home allocation was fully committed and only limited funds remained through Wintrust Mortgage. The Cook County Land Bank offers up to 6% or $20,000 on its own listed properties with no income cap. IHDA provides the statewide first mortgage with Access Forgivable, Access Deferred, Access Repayable, or the $9,000 Opening Doors grant that is open in 2026. HomeGrown caps the grant at 25% of the price "before any other purchase assistance is applied," which signals layering is contemplated, but neither DOH nor IHDA publishes a compatibility chart, so have NLS or TRP and an IHDA-approved lender confirm the combination in writing. FHA, VA, and conventional loans all work with HomeGrown.

Timing matters more than it looks. HomeGrown will not accept your application without an executed contract, and your place in line is set only when the file is complete, so assemble pre-approval, income documents, and ID before you write an offer, and negotiate a closing date that leaves room for review. Take the HUD-approved class early; it is required before closing for nearly every program here. If you are chasing Cook County's money, you currently must take your first mortgage from Wintrust, so compare that rate against other lenders plus HomeGrown alone.

A $70,000 HomeGrown grant on a $380,000 two-flat in Zone A is close to a full 20% down payment, which is why demand is heavy and why the older Chicago Infrastructure Trust Home Buyer Assistance Program now reads like a legacy page rather than a live option. Verify funding the week you apply, not the month before.

Frequently Asked Questions

Zone A covers neighborhoods where sale prices have risen sharply and pays $70,000 to households at or below 80% of AMI, stepping down to $10,000 at 121% to 150% of AMI. Zone B covers low-income census tracts and pays $50,000 at or below 80% of AMI down to $20,000 at 101% to 120% of AMI. Enter the property address in the lookup map on DOH's HomeGrown page to find its zone; NLS or TRP make the final call, and the grant can never exceed 25% of the purchase price.

For educational purposes only -- not financial or tax advice. Program details, funding availability, income limits, and benefit amounts change, often mid-year. Verify everything with the administering agency before you apply. Median home price: Redfin, Chicago, IL housing market, September 2026 (median sale price $409,805, +7.8% YoY), https://www.redfin.com/city/29470/IL/Chicago/housing-market. Last verified: October 29, 2026.