Skip to main content
WalletWaypoint

For educational purposes only — not financial advice. Learn about our editorial process

Housing · Houston, TX

Houston, TX First-Time Homebuyer Programs 2026

First-time homebuyer programs in Houston, TX for 2026: Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP), Harvey Homebuyer Assistance Program 2.0 (HbAP 2.0), New Home Development Program (NHDP) and more, how they stack with Texas state programs, income limits, and tips. Median home price $325,000.

$325,000
Median home price, Houston
6
Local programs
3
Texas programs

Overview

Houston is one of the few big metros where a first-time buyer with a modest income still has real choices. The Houston Association of REALTORS put the Greater Houston single-family median at $325,000 in September 2026, essentially flat from a year earlier, with 5.5 months of inventory and homes averaging 58 days on the market. That is a buyer-leaning market. Buyers using city or county assistance usually land well under the median: Harris County's program caps the purchase price at $285,000 for an existing home ($296,000 new), and the city's New Home Development Program lists new builds at roughly $195,000 to $215,000 in Acres Homes, Settegast, Sunnyside, Fifth Ward and Third Ward. Inside the city, that money tends to buy on the north, northeast and south sides; outside it, in unincorporated subdivisions toward Cypress, Humble, Channelview and the southeast.

The headline city program is the Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP): up to $75,000, sized to need, as a 0% forgivable loan for households at or below 80% of area median income ($83,200 for a family of four under the June 2026 limits). Awards up to $50,000 are forgiven over five years; larger awards take eight. The catch in October 2026 is that HAP is closed: the city says funds are exhausted and it is not accepting or processing new applications, and pre-approval letters now expire after three months with no extensions. The Harvey Homebuyer Assistance Program 2.0 goes up to $125,000 for buyers who lived in Houston on August 25, 2017 and earn up to 120% of AMI ($124,800 for four), but new applications without a pre-approval are on hold. Harris County's Down Payment Assistance Program was raised to $40,000 in November 2025, yet it is only taking applicants affected by Hurricane Beryl or the May 2024 derecho; everyone else is told the program is at capacity. The county's separate Beryl/Derecho Homebuyer Assistance Program covers up to 45% of the gap between your loan and the price, with a 10-year occupancy commitment.

Local Programs in Houston

Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)

Forgivable loan, 0% interest, no payments; forgiven 20% per year over 5 years for awards up to $50,000, or 12.5% per year over 8 years for awards of $50,000.01 to $75,000
City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department (HCD)
Up to $75,000, sized to financial need via a subsidy layering analysis
At or below 80% of area median income; 2026 limits effective June 1, 2026: $58,250 (1 person), $66,600 (2), $74,900 (3), $83,200 (4), $89,900 (5), $96,550 (6), $103,200 (7), $109,850 (8)
Homes that pay property taxes to the City of Houston (city taxing jurisdiction); assistance suspended inside the Fifth Ward / Kashmere Gardens Union Pacific sampling zone during the EPA investigation
First-time buyer required

CLOSED as of Oct 2026: the city says program funds are exhausted and it is no longer accepting or processing applications; existing pre-approval letters are valid 3 months with no extensions; reopening will be first-come, first-served. Other terms (Guidelines v8.0 dated June 23, 2026): first-time buyer means no ownership interest in a principal residence in the last 3 years (spouse must also qualify); minimum $350 buyer cash contribution; 8-hour HUD-approved homebuyer education certificate; front-end DTI max 33%, back-end 45%; liquid assets under $50,000; no minimum credit score; no maximum sales price but price cannot exceed appraised value; fixed-rate mortgage only (no ARMs or seller financing); funds cannot pay realtor commissions; any lender may participate (preferred list = 5+ city files plus annual workshop); about 6 weeks from complete application to commitment; 6% fee on a defaulted balance. Applicant workshop Nov 10, 2026; realtor/lender workshop Nov 18, 2026.

Harvey Homebuyer Assistance Program 2.0 (HbAP 2.0)

Forgivable loan, 0% interest, secured by a lien; forgiven after a compliance period of 5 years (up to $50,000), 8 years ($50,000.01 to $75,000) or 10 years ($75,000.01 to $125,000); prorated repayment if you sell or move out early
City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department (CDBG-DR17 disaster recovery funds)
Up to $125,000 for down payment, closing costs, principal reduction and interest-rate reduction
At or below 120% of area median income; 2026 limits effective June 1, 2026: $87,350 (1 person), $99,850 (2), $112,300 (3), $124,800 (4), $134,800 (5), $144,750 (6), $154,750 (7), $164,750 (8)
Properties inside City of Houston limits; applicant must have lived at an address inside Houston city limits on August 25, 2017; Fifth Ward / Kashmere Gardens UPRR sampling zone suspended
First-time buyer required

Funding is limited: applications without a pre-approval are ON HOLD until further notice; applicants who already hold a pre-approval should keep moving toward closing; no extensions. First-time buyer OR lost your home because of Hurricane Harvey. Requires a preferred-list realtor and lender (lender must have closed at least 5 city DPA files and attended the annual workshop), an 8-hour HUD-approved class, minimum $350 contribution, 33%/45% DTI limits, fixed-rate mortgage, no cash back at closing, homeowner's and (where applicable) flood insurance for the whole compliance period. No stated maximum price (cap based on market data reviewed every 6 months). $19.8 million CDBG-DR17 allocation; 29 families closed as of the Dec 12, 2025 press release.

New Home Development Program (NHDP)

Subsidy on new city-partnered homes (down payment, interest-rate subsidy, closing costs, principal reduction) with an owner-occupancy affordability period; forgiveness terms not spelled out on the program page
City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department with the Houston Land Bank
Up to $50,000 based on financial need; the city's Homebuyer Hub lists home prices of roughly $195,000 to $215,000
At or below 80% of area median income (same 2026 table as HAP: $83,200 for a household of 4)
New single-family homes built on Houston Land Bank lots in Acres Homes, Settegast, Sunnyside, Denver Harbor, Fifth Ward, Third Ward and Independence Heights (Fifth Ward homes inside the UPRR sampling zone are suspended)
First-time buyer required

Availability depends on which homes the Land Bank has finished (call 281-655-4600). The city's Homebuyer Hub says HCD is no longer accepting applications because funds are exhausted, while the NHDP page is silent on status; confirm with HCD at 832-394-6200. Requires a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage, an 8-hour HUD-approved class, pre-approval dated within 120 days, and U.S. citizenship or permanent residency. Guidelines file is dated August 2022.

Down Payment Assistance Program (DAP)

Silent second mortgage (gap financing) with a period of affordability of 5 years for awards under $25,000 or 10 years for $25,000 to $40,000; prorated repayment if you leave early
Harris County Housing and Community Development (HCD)
Up to $40,000 (raised from $23,800 effective November 18, 2025): a base award of $27,100 for down payment, prepaids and closing costs plus incentives such as a 3-year home warranty (up to $1,800), 1 year of flood insurance ($3,000), 1 year of wind-and-hail homeowner's insurance (up to $5,700), elevation certificate (up to $500), HOA dues (up to $1,500) and title policy
Income-qualified (80% of AMI under HUD HOME rules); the DAP page does not post a dollar table. Harris County HCD's 2026 80% AMI table, effective May 2026, is $58,250 (1), $66,600 (2), $74,900 (3), $83,200 (4), $89,900 (5), $96,550 (6), $103,200 (7), $109,850 (8); limits change annually
Unincorporated Harris County only (not inside the City of Houston or other incorporated cities), in a qualified census tract and outside a flood hazard area; check the county service-area map
First-time buyer required

Effectively closed to the general public as of Oct 2026: the county is only accepting applicants affected by Hurricane Beryl or the May 2024 derecho and says non-affected applications can no longer be accepted because the program reached maximum capacity. Terms: first-time buyer (no ownership in 3 years); minimum $1,000 buyer contribution; credit score 580+; housing ratio 39% / total DTI 42%; liquid assets no more than $30,000; HUD-approved homeownership education; maximum purchase price $285,000 existing or $296,000 new construction; must use a DAP participating lender (list dated Dec 2025); home must meet county Minimum Property Standards; apply through your lender (a lender portal is 'coming soon'). Phone 832-927-4955.

Hurricane Beryl/Storm Derecho Homebuyer Assistance Program (Single-Family Housing Development Program)

Gap assistance usable as a price reduction, down payment and closing costs, with a 10-year affordability period; prorated repayment if you move out before 10 years
Harris County Housing and Community Development (HCD)
Assistance of up to 45% (the county page does not state a dollar cap); covers the gap between the lender-approved loan amount and the sales price
At or below 80% of AMI; 2026 limits effective May 2026: $58,250 (1), $66,600 (2), $74,900 (3), $83,200 (4), $89,900 (5), $96,550 (6), $103,200 (7), $109,850 (8)
Harris County (the page does not narrow it further)

Open via a pre-application form as of Oct 2026 with no posted deadline. Requires a 620+ credit score, a lender prequalification letter, an 8-hour HUD-certified class (certificates valid 1 year, applicant and co-applicant), Texas ID for every adult, two years of tax returns, being current on child support, housing costs no more than 39% of income and total debt no more than 42%, and a commitment to live in the home 10 years. The page does not state whether you must document storm damage, and it does not mention a first-time buyer requirement; confirm both with HCD at 832-927-4955.

Houston Community Land Trust - Homebuyer Choice Program

Price subsidy through a 99-year ground lease: you own the house, HCLT owns the land; resale price is limited to the initial price plus 1.25% per year; no minimum occupancy period
Houston Community Land Trust (nonprofit; partners with the City of Houston)
Subsidy amount not published on the HCLT site as of Oct 2026 (the land is placed in trust to lower the purchase price); monthly HCLT fee of $113 covers the $50 ground lease fee, $50 maintenance reserve and property taxes
Gross household income below 80% of AMI (HCLT links an AMI guide; limits change annually)
City of Houston (buyer picks a home in a neighborhood of their choice, subject to HCLT approval)

Requires an 8-hour HUD-certified homebuyer class plus HCLT's CLT orientation, a fixed-rate 30-year mortgage from an HCLT-approved lender, debt within HCLT limits, at least $1,000 in reserves at closing, and a pre-approval letter. The HCLT site does not state a first-time buyer rule, current funding status or a waitlist; email info@houstonclt.org. Resale is restricted to HCLT-income-qualified buyers, so equity growth is capped by design.

Stacking With Texas Programs

Your first mortgage can be an FHA, VA, USDA or conventional loan, including the TDHCA My First Texas Home or TSAHC first mortgages covered on the Texas page; the Houston and Harris County programs record a subordinate lien behind it. Houston's HAP and HbAP run a subsidy layering analysis, so state DPA or seller credits reduce the city award to the remaining gap, and the city rejects adjustable-rate and seller-financed first loans. Harris County's DAP is likewise a silent second that fills the gap after your own $1,000; whether a lender will carry a state DPA lien plus a city or county lien is a lender-by-lender decision, so confirm before you go under contract.

Full details, income limits, and the federal FHA, VA, and USDA options are on the Texas first-time homebuyer programs guide. When you know what you qualify for, compare the best mortgage lenders for first-time buyers and confirm the lender is approved for the program you plan to use.

Tips for First-Time Buyers in Houston

Stacking works like this. Your first mortgage is an FHA loan (3.5% down), a VA loan (zero down) or a conventional HFA loan, often through TSAHC or TDHCA, which are covered on our Texas page. The city or county assistance records a second lien behind it. Houston's HAP runs a subsidy layering analysis, so if state DPA or seller credits already cover part of the gap, the city award shrinks to what is actually needed; it will not fund realtor commissions, and it rejects adjustable-rate and seller-financed mortgages. Harris County's DAP is likewise a silent second that fills the gap after your own $1,000 minimum.

Practical rules that trip people up: every one of these programs requires an eight-hour homebuyer education class from a HUD-approved agency before you apply, plus a minimum $350 cash contribution for the city programs ($1,000 for the county). The city will work with any lender, but its preferred list is lenders who have closed at least five city files, and the Harvey program requires one of them. Expect about six weeks from a complete application to a commitment letter, and do not sign a purchase contract until you hold a Conditional Reservation Letter. Homes inside the Fifth Ward and Kashmere Gardens Union Pacific sampling zone are suspended from all city assistance during the EPA investigation, and anything in a flood zone must carry flood insurance. The city's next applicant workshop is November 10, 2026.

The honest closing thought: in late 2026 Houston's local money is mostly spoken for, and the open doors are the disaster-tied programs. If you are not Harvey- or Beryl-affected, get your counseling certificate and pre-approval ready now, use the state program for your first mortgage, and watch the HAP page for the reopening notice, because reopened funding goes first-come, first-served.

Frequently Asked Questions

No. As of October 2026 the city says HAP funds are exhausted and it is not accepting or processing new applications. Pre-approval letters already issued are valid for three months with no extensions, and when funding is replenished the program reopens first-come, first-served. The Harvey program (HbAP 2.0) is also on hold for anyone without a pre-approval.

For educational purposes only -- not financial or tax advice. Program details, funding availability, income limits, and benefit amounts change, often mid-year. Verify everything with the administering agency before you apply. Median home price: Houston Association of REALTORS (HAR) September 2026 Housing Market Update, Greater Houston single-family median sale price, released Oct 14, 2026 (as reported Oct 19, 2026), https://myneighborhoodnews.com/houston-housing-market-slows-as-mortgage-rates-rise-but-home-prices-hold-steady-in-september-2026. Last verified: October 29, 2026.