Overview
San Antonio remains the most affordable of Texas's big four cities, and it got slightly cheaper this year. The San Antonio Board of REALTORS reported a median sale price of $302,999 across its service area in September 2026, down about 2% from a year earlier; inside Bexar County the single-family median was $282,680, down 4.8%. Homes sat an average of 88 days, and inventory reached 5.95 months, so sellers are negotiating. The city's HIP 80 program caps the price at $260,000 for an existing home or $284,000 new, which is where a lot of the South Side, West Side, East Side and parts of the far Northwest fall; just confirm any address sits inside the city limits on the city's map, since places like Converse, Leon Valley and Alamo Heights are separate cities.
The Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP) is the city's own money, run by the Neighborhood and Housing Services Department. HIP 80 lends $1,000 to $30,000 at 0% with no payments; amounts up to $15,000 are forgiven over five years and larger loans over ten. Income must be at or below the 2026 limits, $80,500 for a family of four. HIP 120 serves moderate earners ($120,700 for four on the 2025 table still posted) with $1,000 to $15,000, but with a twist: 25% of the loan is never forgiven and is repaid when you sell or refinance, while the other 75% is forgiven over ten years. Both require a $500 earnest-money deposit and an eight-hour HUD class through NHSD or Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA). The catch: the city page does not say whether funds are currently available, and several local reports said HIP 80 was paused for the 2026 fiscal year, so call NHSD at 210-207-6459 before you plan around it. NHSSA runs its own first-time buyer assistance, up to $12,000 as a deferred second lien, anywhere in Bexar County or surrounding counties with a 580 credit score. Bexar County government itself does not run a down payment program.
Local Programs in San Antonio
Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP 80)
Purchase price caps: $260,000 existing home, $284,000 new construction. Requires a minimum $500 earnest-money deposit, an 8-hour HUD-approved homebuyer class through NHSD or Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio (NHSSA), and prior approval for a first-lien mortgage; NHSD then works with your lender to document and close the HIP loan. The NHSD page does not impose a first-time buyer rule and does not state current funding availability; local reports during 2026 said HIP 80 was paused for the city's FY2026 pending council funding, which could not be verified on sa.gov. Call NHSD at 210-207-6459 before relying on it.
Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP 120)
Purchase price caps: $301,700 existing home, $332,800 new construction. Same $500 earnest-money minimum, 8-hour HUD class and lender-first process as HIP 80. The 25% perpetual portion means part of the loan is always repaid at sale, so budget for it. Funding status not posted on the official page as of Oct 2026.
Down Payment Assistance for First-Time Home Buyers
Requires a first-lien mortgage through a participating lender, a 580+ credit score, U.S. citizenship or permanent residency, and completion of a HUD-approved homebuyer education course (NHSSA's own class also satisfies the city's HIP requirement). Get pre-approved first; NHSSA then works with your lender to set the amount. Funding source and status are not stated. Contact Patricia Sanchez, psanchez@nhs-satx.org, 210-533-6673 ext. 306.
Stacking With Texas Programs
You first qualify for a 30-year first mortgage, which can be a TDHCA My First Texas Home or TSAHC loan from the Texas page or a standard FHA, VA or conventional loan; NHSD then works directly with that lender to request and close the HIP loan as a subordinate lien. If you also take state DPA you would carry two subordinate liens, and not every first-mortgage product or lender allows that, so confirm the lien stack before you sign a contract. The city's price caps ($260,000 existing for HIP 80) apply regardless of what the state program allows.
Full details, income limits, and the federal FHA, VA, and USDA options are on the Texas first-time homebuyer programs guide. When you know what you qualify for, compare the best mortgage lenders for first-time buyers and confirm the lender is approved for the program you plan to use.
Tips for First-Time Buyers in San Antonio
To stack, you first qualify for a 30-year first mortgage, which can be a TSAHC or TDHCA loan covered on our Texas page, or an ordinary FHA, VA or conventional loan. NHSD then works directly with your lender to request and document the HIP loan, which closes as a second lien. If you also take state DPA, you are carrying two subordinate liens, and not every lender or first-mortgage product allows that, so ask before you sign a contract.
Practical notes: the city only starts once your lender has approved you, so sequence it that way. The city budget year runs October through September; new HIP money is typically allocated at the start of the fiscal year and can run out mid-year, so apply early. Keep the contract price under the cap, including on new construction, and budget a few extra weeks for city processing. NHSSA's class satisfies both the city and its own program, and lenders who have closed HIP files before will move faster because they already know the city's forms for zero-income, self-employment and asset certifications.
The realistic picture: San Antonio's prices are within reach of a lot of working households, and HIP 80's $30,000 is a meaningful chunk of a $260,000 purchase. The uncertainty is funding, not eligibility. Get the class done, get pre-approved, and be ready to move when the city confirms money is available.
Frequently Asked Questions
Sources
- City of San Antonio NHSD - Homeownership Incentive Program (HIP 80 / HIP 120)
- City of San Antonio NHSD - Homeowner Support
- Neighborhood Housing Services of San Antonio - Down Payment Loans
- Bexar County - official site (no county homebuyer DPA listed)
- SABOR - September 2026 San Antonio Market Stats press release
- Texas Public Radio - September home sales and prices dip in San Antonio (Oct 16, 2026)
For educational purposes only -- not financial or tax advice. Program details, funding availability, income limits, and benefit amounts change, often mid-year. Verify everything with the administering agency before you apply. Median home price: San Antonio Board of REALTORS (SABOR) September 2026 MLS report press release, San Antonio-area median sale price (Bexar County single-family median was $282,680), released Oct 9, 2026, https://sabor.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/SABOR-August-2026-SA-Market-Stats-Press-Release-1.docx. Last verified: October 29, 2026.